<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	xmlns:sy="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/syndication/"
		>
<channel>
	<title>Comments on: Email, the perfect tool for hackers</title>
	<atom:link href="http://micacomputers.com/2009/11/email-the-perfect-tool-for-hackers/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://micacomputers.com/2009/11/email-the-perfect-tool-for-hackers/</link>
	<description>Your reliable partner in ICT</description>
	<lastBuildDate>Sat, 05 May 2012 14:03:35 +0000</lastBuildDate>
	<sy:updatePeriod>hourly</sy:updatePeriod>
	<sy:updateFrequency>1</sy:updateFrequency>
	<generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=2.9.1</generator>
	<item>
		<title>By: Jung Raymo</title>
		<link>http://micacomputers.com/2009/11/email-the-perfect-tool-for-hackers/comment-page-1/#comment-845</link>
		<dc:creator>Jung Raymo</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Tue, 01 Feb 2011 04:57:03 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://micacomputers.com/?p=273#comment-845</guid>
		<description>Have you ever considered about including a little bit more than just your articles? I mean, what you say is valuable and everything. However think about if you added some great graphics or videos to give your posts more, &quot;pop&quot;! Your content is excellent but with images and clips, this blog could certainly be one of the most beneficial in its niche. Excellent blog!</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Have you ever considered about including a little bit more than just your articles? I mean, what you say is valuable and everything. However think about if you added some great graphics or videos to give your posts more, &#8220;pop&#8221;! Your content is excellent but with images and clips, this blog could certainly be one of the most beneficial in its niche. Excellent blog!</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: Webmaster</title>
		<link>http://micacomputers.com/2009/11/email-the-perfect-tool-for-hackers/comment-page-1/#comment-40</link>
		<dc:creator>Webmaster</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Tue, 26 Jan 2010 08:31:00 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://micacomputers.com/?p=273#comment-40</guid>
		<description>Another scam doing the rounds, looking to be an innocent message from AIM, AOL&#039;s Instant Messaging Service. The email below, then at the bottom how you can spot it&#039;s fake &amp; dangerous...

&lt;strong&gt;From: AOL Instant Messenger [mailto:no_reply_instant_messenger@aol.com] 
Sent: Saturday, January 23, 2010 7:43 AM
To: info@myclientname.com
Subject: Your AIM account is flagged as inactive
 
Dear AIM user,

Your AIM account is flagged as inactive. Within the following 72 hours it’ll be deleted from the system.
If you plan to use this account in the future, you have to download and launch the latest update for the AIM. This update is critical.
 
In order to install the update use the following link. This link is generated exclusively for your account and is available within a certain period of time. As soon as this link is not available anymore you will get another letter.
 
Thank you,
AIM Service Team

This e-mail has been sent from an e-mail address that is not monitored. Please do not reply to this message. We are unable to respond to any replies.
&lt;/strong&gt; 

The signs? Well the email looks authentic (the FROM: address originates at AOL.COM). However, email headers can easily be faked and in this case, the message does not originate from AOL at all. So what gives it away?

In the original email, where it reads &quot;In order to install the update use the following link&quot;, the last 3 words are a hyperlink. Hovering over this link (and NOT clicking it), reveals that the actual link is:

&lt;code&gt;http://update.aol.com.oijeazxcom.pl/products/aimController.php?code=26760816627501960482324357915365863132494086742&amp;email=info@myclientname.com&lt;/code&gt;

Look closely; though at first site the link appears to be at update.aol.com , in reality it will send you to oijeazxcom.pl - a website in Poland. When you visit that site, the first thing that happens is that you confirm your email address (at the end of the link), adding it instantly to hundreds of email-spam-lists. Secondly, you&#039;ll be asked to install the &#039;updated AIM client&#039; which, you&#039;ll have guessed it, installs spyware and/or a virus on your pc. 

Again, NEVER click on a link before inspecting it properly. Use a safe browser such as Google&#039;s Chrome or Mozilla&#039;s Firefox. And never, never, install a piece of software just because someone asks you by email.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Another scam doing the rounds, looking to be an innocent message from AIM, AOL&#8217;s Instant Messaging Service. The email below, then at the bottom how you can spot it&#8217;s fake &#038; dangerous&#8230;</p>
<p><strong>From: AOL Instant Messenger [mailto:no_reply_instant_messenger@aol.com]<br />
Sent: Saturday, January 23, 2010 7:43 AM<br />
To: <a href="mailto:info@myclientname.com">info@myclientname.com</a><br />
Subject: Your AIM account is flagged as inactive</p>
<p>Dear AIM user,</p>
<p>Your AIM account is flagged as inactive. Within the following 72 hours it’ll be deleted from the system.<br />
If you plan to use this account in the future, you have to download and launch the latest update for the AIM. This update is critical.</p>
<p>In order to install the update use the following link. This link is generated exclusively for your account and is available within a certain period of time. As soon as this link is not available anymore you will get another letter.</p>
<p>Thank you,<br />
AIM Service Team</p>
<p>This e-mail has been sent from an e-mail address that is not monitored. Please do not reply to this message. We are unable to respond to any replies.<br />
</strong> </p>
<p>The signs? Well the email looks authentic (the FROM: address originates at AOL.COM). However, email headers can easily be faked and in this case, the message does not originate from AOL at all. So what gives it away?</p>
<p>In the original email, where it reads &#8220;In order to install the update use the following link&#8221;, the last 3 words are a hyperlink. Hovering over this link (and NOT clicking it), reveals that the actual link is:</p>
<p><code><a href="http://update.aol.com.oijeazxcom.pl/products/aimController.php?code=26760816627501960482324357915365863132494086742&#038;email=info@myclientname.com" rel="nofollow">http://update.aol.com.oijeazxcom.pl/products/aimController.php?code=26760816627501960482324357915365863132494086742&#038;email=info@myclientname.com</a></code></p>
<p>Look closely; though at first site the link appears to be at update.aol.com , in reality it will send you to oijeazxcom.pl &#8211; a website in Poland. When you visit that site, the first thing that happens is that you confirm your email address (at the end of the link), adding it instantly to hundreds of email-spam-lists. Secondly, you&#8217;ll be asked to install the &#8216;updated AIM client&#8217; which, you&#8217;ll have guessed it, installs spyware and/or a virus on your pc. </p>
<p>Again, NEVER click on a link before inspecting it properly. Use a safe browser such as Google&#8217;s Chrome or Mozilla&#8217;s Firefox. And never, never, install a piece of software just because someone asks you by email.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
</channel>
</rss>

